Paul “Bear” Bryant Awards

About the Awards

While the Coach of the Year Award has been an annual tradition since 1957, The Bryant Family felt moved to educate and impact awareness around heart disease and stroke following “Bear’s” passing. The family approached the American Heart Association to create a meaningful partnership to keep “Bear’s” legacy alive while raising funds to support research. In 1986, the American Heart Association adopted and re-named the award.

American Heart Association is dedicated to building healthier lives, free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke. The organization is second only to the federal government in funding cardiovascular research, and with heart disease claiming the lives of 647,000 annually, it is now more important than ever to support the organization’s efforts through programming like the Paul “Bear” Bryant Awards. “Bear” always talked about being bigger than something other than himself. The Bryant Awards offer an opportunity to do just that – to be a part of team Bryant in the fight against heart disease and stroke.

Coach of the Year Award Winners

2021 Luke Fickell, Cincinnati
2020 Nick Saban, Alabama
2019 Ed Orgeron, Louisiana State
2018 Dabo Swinney, Clemson
2017 Scott Frost, Central Florida
2016 Dabo Swinney, Clemson
2015 Dabo Swinney, Clemson
2014 Gary Patterson, Texas Christian
2013 Gus Malzahn, Auburn
2012 Bill O’Brien, Penn State
2011 Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State
2010 Gene Chizik, Auburn
2009 Chris Petersen, Boise State
2008 Kyle Whittingham, Utah
2007 Mark Mangino, Kansas
2006 Chris Petersen, Boise State
2005 Mack Brown, Texas

Save the date -Paul Bear Bryant Awards - January 2023