Paul “Bear” Bryant Awards

Through the Paul “Bear” Bryant Awards, a banquet in its 36th year going into the 2021 event, college football coaches are recognized for their contributions both on and off the field. Each year, one top performing coach is selected to take home the “Bear” bust trophy and claim the final title of the season: the Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Award.

Coach of the year watchlist, Dave Aranda, Jamey Chadwell, Dave Clawson, Mario Cristobal, Ryan Day, Dave Doeren, Sonny Dykes, Mike Gundy, Luke Fickell, Jimbo Fisher, James Franklin, Jim Harbaugh, Dana Holgorsen, Pat Narduzzi, Lincoln Riley, Nick Saban, Kirby Smart, Jonathan Smith, Mark Stoops, Jeff Traylor, Mel Tucker

Past Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Award Winners

  • 2020 Nick Saban, Alabama
  • 2019 Ed Orgeron, Louisiana State
  • 2018 Dabo Swinney, Clemson
  • 2017 Scott Frost, Central Florida
  • 2016 Dabo Swinney, Clemson
  • 2015 Dabo Swinney, Clemson
  • 2014 Gary Patterson, Texas Christian
  • 2013 Gus Malzahn, Auburn
  • 2012 Bill O’Brien, Penn State
  • 2011 Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State
  • 2010 Gene Chizik, Auburn
  • 2009 Chris Petersen, Boise State
  • 2008 Kyle Whittingham, Utah
  • 2007 Mark Mangino, Kansas
  • 2006 Chris Petersen, Boise State
  • 2005 Mack Brown, Texas