Lifetime Achievement Award

First awarded in 2000, the Paul “Bear” Bryant Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes the career accomplishments of college’s finest football coaches. The only award of its kind in the college football arena, the award highlights the outstanding achievements and extraordinary contributions which have reflected honor and sportsmanship to the game of football throughout the coach’s career. Criteria for the Lifetime Achievement Award:
  • Integrity both on and off the field above reproach.
  • Leadership, dedication and example in the development of character, integrity and sportsmanship of young people on and off the football field.
  • Inspiration and instruction in the development of skills of the game and physical fitness in his players.

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

2023 Bob Stoops
2022 John Robinson
2021 Howard Schnellenberger
2020 Bill Snyder
2019 Frank Beamer
2018 Steve Spurrier
2017 Barry Alvarez
2016 Mack Brown
2015 Jimmy Johnson
2014 R.C. Slocum
2013 Lavell Edwards
2012 Hayden Fry
2011 Bobby Bowden
2010 Vince Dooley
2009 Barry Switzer
2008 Tom Osborne
2007 Glenn “Bo” Schembechler
2006 Jack Pardee
2005 Lou Holtz
2004 Gene Stallings
2003 Frank Broyles
2002 Bill Yeomen
2001 Charles McClendon
2000 Darrell Royal