Kansas Jayhawk Coach Lance Leipold named Bear Bryant Coach of the Week

by | Oct 31, 2023 | news | 0 comments

HOUSTON, October 31st– University of Kansas head Coach Lance Leipold is this week’s Bear Bryant Awards Fan Vote Favorite Coach of the Week presented by Accenture. Coach Leipold received the honors after his Jayhawks defeated then No. 6 Oklahoma 38-33 to move to 6-2 this season.

Senior quarterback Jason Bean orchestrated a 7-play, 80-yard drive that ended with a 9-yard touchdown by Deion Neal giving the Jayhawks a 38-33 lead. In the final moments, Kansas defended the end zone with a ball deflection by Kwinton Lassiter securing Kansas the win.

The Jayhawks now have a 6-2 record for the season and 3-2 in conference play. They’ll go on the road this week to face a 5-3 Iowa State team that currently sits tied for first in the Big 12.

Each week of the regular season, the Paul “Bear” Bryant Awards recognizes a coach for their commitment to exceeding on-field expectations. Previous Coach of the Week honorees this season include Colorado’s Deion Sanders, Texas’ Steve Sarkisian, and Utah’s Kyle Whittingham, among others.

Twenty-six active college football coaches make up the American Heart Association’s 2023 Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Award watch list, a list of current coaches in consideration for the annual top honor. The award is given each January to a college football coach for contributions that make the sport better for athletes and fans alike by demonstrating grit, integrity and a winning approach to coaching and life – both on and off the field.

The American Heart Association, a global force for healthier lives for all, presents this award annually to celebrate Coach Bear Bryant’s legacy and raise awareness and critical funds for research to eradicate cardiovascular disease and stroke, leading causes of death globally. The football coaching legend died from a heart attack in 1983, just 28 days after his final victory and retirement.

In total, five coaches will be recognized at the Bryant Awards Ceremony, presented by Marathon Oil, on January 10. In addition to the Paul “Bear” Bryant 2023 Coach of the Year, awards will also be bestowed for Heart of a Champion, Fan Vote Favorite, the Newcomer Coach of the Year, and the Lifetime Achievement award.

Fans can follow the action at facebook.com/bryantawards, twitter.com/bryantawards or Instagram.com/bryantawards or the hashtag #BryantAwards. To attend the exclusive VIP experience, visit bryantawards.org.

About the American Heart Association

The American Heart Association is a relentless force for a world of longer, healthier lives. We are dedicated to ensuring equitable health in all communities. Through collaboration with numerous organizations, and powered by millions of volunteers, we fund innovative research, advocate for the public’s health and share lifesaving resources. The Dallas-based organization has been a leading source of health information for nearly a century. Connect with us on heart.org, Facebook, 𝕏 or by calling 1-800-AHA-USA1.

For Media Inquiries:

Steven Embree: 405-415-3039; steven.embree@heart.org
For Public Inquiries: 1-800-AHA-USA1 (242-8721)
heart.org and stroke.org